Some of the upcoming movies advertised during the 2010 Super Bowl included Prince Of Persia, The Crazies and Robin Hood.


The 2010 Super Bowl is now in the history books, and if it one thing I love is seeing a good close game, with one team having more endurance and passion, wind up coming out on top. That second half started off with a surprise, an on-side kick that led to a touchdown, and ended pretty much with The Saints Tracy Porter intercepting a pass and sealing the Colts’ fate 31-17. I could not ask for more, aside from the fact that The Saints were not expected to win (thus an underdog) and the hard times New Orleans (and the state of Louisiana) has been through in the past few years. All of that makes good television, and CBS milked that every possible minute in the post-game show.

Another national past time in regards to the Superbowl are the commercials. While I liked a few of them (Denny’s Chickens in danger, the Kiss Dr. Pepper ad, and the Dodge Charger ad) the majority of them were blah (looking at YOU Megan Fox, and not in a good way) and others just tasteless (thinking people with no pants, sumo wrestlers, and Go Daddy). But there is something specifically I want to focus on: the movie trailers. Here’s a list of the ones I caught:

    The Last Air Bender
    Shutter Island
    Robin Hood
    The Crazies
    Alice in Wonderland
    The Back-Up Plan
    Prince of Persia

Of course, Shutter Island is the Martin Scorcese-Leo DeCaprio thriller was was originally supposed to open last year but the studio moved it to the spring of this year. I’ve made up my mind that I want to see it, but that choice was made months ago. I didn’t see an ad for The A-Team which I think should have been there, seeing how the TV series the film is based on premiered after 1983’s Super Bowl XVII. Likewise Iron Man 2 was a no show. Two years ago, it was another story. What was in this years Bowl ads aside from Shutter Island got me thinking, especially after catching the Prince Of Persia ad, and admiring a Universal Orlando spot that made me hyped for the next Harry Potter film when I have skipped all the others- and the ad wasn’t even promoting the next Potter film, at least directly.

Here is the question: based on the movie ads that aired during the Super Bowl XLIV (not counting Harry Potter, Simpsons and Coca Cola or a possible threat of a Vacation reunion) which of the above named films grab my interest and get my attention?

I’ll start with the ones which, based on the Bowl trailers alone, what I will most likely skip. The Back Up Plan is a Jennifer Lopez rom-com film (which should give one plenty of warning RIGHT THERE) which looked more like a bad advertisement for an upcoming CBS sitcom. which deals with artificial insemination. Maybe it’s just me- in a night filled with ads with guys without pants and the human bride from Budweiser, a comedy about artificial insemination by donor may not sound that bad…it sounds and looks as stupid.

But there was something even worse than that. Something far more unforgiving. The trailer for Prince Of Persia. Let me put it this way. There was also an ad for a video game called Dante’s Inferno. It looked liked a cool game. It probably is. Persia is based on a video game character. It is supposed to be a live action movie this coming summer. The ad reminds the viewer that it is based on a video game character. Big mistake. It looks like a total mess. I could make out a dagger, some of the actors, but that’s about it. Sliced and diced into an ecileptic seizure, it’s one trip to the sands I’ll skip. I got a bad, bad feeling about it.

Last Airbender, based on the cartoon, has some appeal, but the spot doesn’t excite me much. The Crazies- a remake of a George Romero film- has my interest up a small notch, but nothing to make me want to go.

Which leaves Shutter Island, Robin Hood and Alice. I already want to see the Scorcese film as I already said, so all the new spot did is solidify that desire. “Hood” does not put me in one way or another, I am indifferent to it. In the case of Wonderland, Tim Burton and Disney’s spot shows off the dark humor, eccentric misfit characters that we expect from Burton. Folks still want to see Johnny Depp, so I think this will get some nice box office and will be on a must see list for me.

Who are You again?

Before I go, there’s one last thing I want to say about the Super Bowl itself. The dreaded Halftime show. I like The Who, but I didn’t like Roger Daltrey straining voice and Pete Townshend’s beer belly much. When it was announced that they were the halftime act, I thought, ‘oh, I know they’ll do Who Are You as a shout out to CBS for using it and other classic Who songs in CSI opening credits. I did NOT expect them to medley (aside from a few Tommy bits-do today’s youth even know what a Pinball Wizard is?) ALL of the tunes CSI and the spinoffs use. It comes across as shameless promotion for the show to me. I would have liked “Squeeze Box” or “The Seeker” the latter of which I predict will be the opening credits tune for the latest spinoff CSI : LA . In any case, there was a time when The Who could rock out stadiums. I wished for another Cherry Dr. Pepper with KISS. So did many others, I’m almost sure of it.

